Date: 21st March 2015 at 3:01pm
Written by:

A South Yorkshire derby takes place at the New York Stadium on Saturday as Sheffield Wednesday make the short journey to face Rotherham United (3pm kick-off).  

The Millers will be hoping to take another stride towards Championship safety as they sit in 20th place in the league and are just six points off the relegation places.

Steve Evans’ side grabbed a crucial win over Huddersfield Town two weeks ago but have lost their last two fixtures, to Wigan Athletic and Nottingham Forest respectively.

Losing to fellow strugglers Wigan at home was a blow to Rotherham’s survival chances but the form of the sides below them ensure that they have a good chance of staying in the Championship for another season.

Evans has brought in two new loan signings yesterday, taking the players in tally to 31 this season. Arsenal goalkeeper Damian Martinez and Charlton Athletic defender Lawrie Wilson have joined the club until the end of the season. Both available for selection against Sheffield Wednesday.

Rotherham are without on-loan defender Jack Hunt through injury which means Frazer Richardson is set to be handed a start.

The Millers are also without Kari Arnason through suspension but winger Danny Ward should be back from a foot injury.

Sheffield Wednesday slipped back into the bottom half of the table following a 3-0 defeat to Wolverhampton Wanderers in midweek and manager Stuart Gray is keen not to let complacency set in as the Owls are comfortably safe in mid-table.

His side though have just won once in their last four matches.

Wednesday’s new owners will be looking towards next season as they are prepared to inject investment into the squad to make them strong enough for possible promotion push.

Gray will be without Will Keane (ankle), Sergiu Bus (groin), Jose Semedo (foot), Glenn Loovens (foot) and Kamil Zayatte (ankle).

New loan signing midfielder Lloyd Isgrove, who joined from Southampton this week, is available for selection.

MILLERS: Martinez, Hunt, Broadfoot, Morgan, Lafferty; Wilson, Frecklington, Smallwood, Pringle; Derbyshire, Sammon.

WEDNESDAY: Westwood, Hutchinson, Nuhiu, Lees, Lee, Isgrove, Helan, Zayatte, Dielna, Vermijl, McGugan.